Keyboard Shortcut - "Move" Text" "Select"

As an attorney I use Devonthink to markup, hyperlink and manage lots of large PDFs, and sometimes need to import those links into other software such as Curio, Aeon Timeline etc.

This task would be made much easier if DT allowed keyboard shortcuts that would allow me to move quickly across the PDF annotations buttons( circle, note, text etc), and the “Move” Text" “Select” buttons, all of which appear across the top of the PDF windows.

Mousing all of these options is clumsy and slows the process of PDF markup down considerably.

I’ve had a look in the forum and can’t see any workaround solutions, or ability to set my own keyboard shortcuts to allow quick navigation across these functions.

Can anybody suggest anything?

Interesting… I find it more clumsy to use the keyboard, but different strokes… :smiley:

In System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > App-Shortcuts… You can add shortcuts like so…

I used Option and keys comfortable to my right hand. No meaning other than spatially.

Thanks Jim.

I love the combo of DT and Curio for lawyer’s work BTW. Manage the raw data in DT, map it spatially in Curio (all hyperlinked back to DT), then send text back from Cutio to DT for some polishing, before exporting to Word.

No problem. Interesting process. If you do (or ever decide to) blog, that’d be an interesting read. Cheers! :smiley:

Jim, I’m trying to copy this to work on my machine too, but it doesn’t work yet.
I’ve read David Sparks remark on the ‘ellipses’ thing (the 3 dots) and applied that too, but still it doesn’t work.

I assume the shortcuts on your print screen are about editing a PDF? Where and when should these shortcuts work? Three pane view for example or should you have the PDF open in a separate editor window?

Thanks for helping out!

There should be no ellipses (or three dots either) as the menu items do NOT have them. See Edit > PDF Document > Annotate.