Latex and database integrity

Dear All,

I’m a newbie currently testing DT to see what it can do for me.

As an academic in economics I’m writing notes and papers in Latex only because i need lots of formulas so rtf etc. is not an option. So my question is (and I have checked the forum posts on Latex from the last couple of years):

When I move a latex file into DT then I have to open it with, say, TexShop to work with it and compile it. But then Latex creates a lot of files into the DT folder where the latex file resides (which is what I want). But can this create any trouble with the DT database, because the files Latex has created do not show up in the group folder in DT. I don’t care to see these files, but I want to be sure that this is a safe way to work (in terms of data integrity).

In other words, is it a good idea to import latex files into DT or is it better to just index them?

many thanks,

tom

me again…

Well, if DT does not automatically show the pdf file I created from compiling the tex-file, then this is not of much use.

Am I missing anything? There must be many DT users who use latex. How do you combine latex and DT?

many thanks,

tom

Modifications of the database package (by the user or by other software) are not recommended, only external editing & saving is fully supported. Therefore in this case indexing is more suitable.

thanks for the quick response!

tom

I concur. I’ve found it most convenient to index my LaTeX projects. Once one is “Done” I will import a final PDF, remove the indexed project, and archive the directory somewhere in case I want to make modifications.

As a follow-up question, would the following in principle cause any problems with DT:

• save only *.tex and *.pdf in DT, and create separate folder outside of DT for the temp files
    -configure the latex compiler (TexShop etc.) such that all temp files are written into a temp-folder outside of DT, while the changed *.tex and *.pdf are updated in DT