Linking Between DT Databases

Hi - I’m brand new to DevonThink. I"m wondering if it is possible to link from one document in one DT database to one in another DT database?

Not currently. I think there will be means of doing that in DEVONthink 2.

mr/dr deville,

i am not new to DTP but unfortunately do not know the answer to this question, which i think is probably pretty simply answered and may have already been addressed in previous posts, but i could not find it in DTP help or by searching the forum. i apologize if it’s repetitive.

i have several DTP databases - a huge, central one and several “dedicated” ones for specific projects. my guess is that you and devon advisors recommend one database for everything. if so, and i decide to merge/incorporate one or more of the dedicated, smaller DTP databases into the central huge one, is there a preferred way of doing so? is it “import”? cut and paste? i am unable to have 2 databases open at same time so remain puzzled.

thanks for any help.

rich ratzan

Actually, I often recommend multiple, topically-designed databases. I’m managing more than 150,000 documents among a number of topical or historical databases. I usually work on a laptop, and if I merged everything into one database, I doubt there would be room on my hard drive for it. If I could cram it on, performance would at times be very slow, even though my laptop has 4 GB RAM.

I’m spoiled. I like quick performance in my main database (about 30 million total words. I just did a couple of two-word searches for author names. One search took 10 milliseconds, the other 11 milliseconds.