Local Sync Question

Hello. I am a doctoral student setting up DEVONthink for the first time. I have installed on both my iMac (1TB storage) and my Macbook pro (256GB storage). My question is for the local sync does it matter (storage wise) which is the server and which is the client? I expect my research to contain very few pics or videos (if any) and will contain mostly text, annotations, PDFs, word docs, diagrams). I am not very techie so forgive if my question is a non-issue. Sometimes it helps to hear that!

Hi! If you’re doing a Bonjour Sync, it doesn’t matter. If you were Syncing to a local syncStore on one machine, then it would.

As a native English [American actually] speaker, I would say that is an accurate but insufficient answer. I would guess, the questioner would like to know if it does matter, what is the difference and when should it matter and what to do.

That is characteristic of many of the answers on this forum. There is a tremendous wealth of data on the forum, but there is not enough translation of the data into information.

I am curious if that is a language and cultural issue as I speak some French, German, Dutch, Japanese, and English [do read the French and German forums occasionally] and have run across similar issues when living in those countries. ie literal translation or answers which do not really answer the question being asked. It is very tough to translate language or culture, but I do wonder if that is part of the issue particularly with all the back and forth I have seen with sync and also with DTTG 1 and 2 usage.

I enjoy reading the forums and appreciate all the contributions from Devonthink folks and Devonthink users. They have been very useful to me.

A simple question was asked.
A simple answer was given, in consideration for someone who claims to not be tech-savvy. (I even hesitated to include the second sentence, as it wasn’t directly specified.)