Looking to upgrade to Wifi scanning -- Brothers vs. Fujitsu recommendations?

Hi,

Currently using a Fujitsu ScanSnap s1300 scanner to stay paperless. This scanner requires that I have two USB plugs to my Mac or one USB plus a power cord. I’m looking to move to a wireless / WiFi solution and drop the USB connection. What seems to stand out in the reviews and such are the Brothers ADS-1250W/ADS-1700W and the Fujitsu ScanSnap iX1500.

Have folks here had luck with the Brothers or the newer Fujitsu? Seems like reviews are mixed on the web / Amazon. I tend to use DevonThink as my scanning solution, and avoid the manufacturer software.

Looking for recommendations on something reasonably sized that can scan duplex docs over wifi direct to DevonThink.

Thanks!

Jeff

I have been using the iX1500 for about six months and think very highly of it. The software on both Mac and iOS is quite good and updated regularly. The scanner retains what I’ve long loved about ScanSnaps, the ability to scan almost anything at high speed without jamming. I’m fairly sure I could scan a ham and cheese sandwich in duplex using it.

I’ve had a long line of Brother MFC units, the scanners of which have been fine. No complaints, but the software isn’t as much to my liking and they don’t seem as robust when given a mixed stack of items to scan. Their one advantage is that they work with Image Capture on the Mac. Not a big deal for my uses.

1 Like

If you go ScanSnap you will definitely want to avoid Fujitsu’s software. The switch from ScanSnap Manager to ScanSnap Home has been met with almost universal scorn (at least, in my crowd).

I didn’t realize that DT had their own separate interface for it. I’ll have to check that out.

If you go ScanSnap you will definitely want to avoid Fujitsu’s software. The switch from ScanSnap Manager to ScanSnap Home has been met with almost universal scorn (at least, in my crowd).