Making my worksheet workflow DT compatible

Right now I’m using DevonThink to manage my paperwork, like recipes etc., create notes, collect all sorts of (potentially) usefull links, videos, websites, images and so on. I really like the powerful search function as well as the great sync function between Mac and iOS.

I am a teacher and create most of my worksheets and tests using Markdown files, which I then convert to PDF files via Pandoc using ConTeXt. Currently I work with a folder structure that looks something like this:
School → Subject → Curriculum Unit → Concrete Hour → Worksheet-01_Subject->Markdownfile/imgs folder/…

There are some images that I use more often, these are located for example under School → Images → Subfolders…

When I create a new worksheet I copy an existing folder (e.g. Worksheet-01_Subject) to the new location, rename it and the Markdown file, drop the associated images and then edit the Markdown file itself. I would now like to manage all my worksheets in Devonthink so that I can use the strong search function etc for them as well. One requirement would definitely be that I can drag the worksheet folders from Devonthink back into the Finder and everything still works (links to images, etc).

At first I thought of just creating the School folder as a database and dragging all subfolders into it accordingly, then groups will be created according to my folder structure. To make the links to the images work, I would create a subfolder imgs in each worksheet group and store all images that belong to it there. For images that are used several times, I would replicate?(not duplicate) an image e.g. from the School->Images group. This should ensure that all data is referenced via imgs/… and that I have usable Markdown files without devonthink:// urls when exporting.