Managing large DT databases

Hello,

I have been using DT for a few years now but in conjunction with a few other tools/databases. My research partner and I are keen in centralizing all our data in our DT database that we sync between the two of us and multiple installs (I have purchased 3 keys, will probably need one more for a research assistant). We sync using dropbox and it has been working well but our database at the moment is mostly text files with a few pdfs of books and articles (we are historians). The next step for us would be to store the photos we take of documents at the archives in it. Right now those photos are in a shared dropbox folder. We have thousands and thousands of images. I am wondering if moving these images to Devonthink might slow down our syncs or have any impact on usabilityin general. We dont HAVE to have them on DT, I suppose. We could import just the images we actively use or need to annotate and keep the deparate Dropbox folder as an archive of all the unedited photos.

Just wondering if anyone else has similar sceneario….

Alexandra

1 Like

How do you manage Dropbox on the individual computers of the partners? Does each partner sync all of Dropbox to their computer, or do they only download the files they need? If the former, then you are in essence already syncing the images to every partner’s computer. Hard to say without specifics in terms of number of images and total blob size what the load on DEVONthink sync would be if you imported them into the shared working database.

However, I think you answered the question about merging the images into your shared DEVONthink database when you wrote “We don’t HAVE to have them on DT”. If there’s no resounding Yes, then don’t do it.

Unless the partners are all working with the same images at the same time, I would suggest each partner have a private working database of their own where they can index the images from Dropbox that they need at the time. Not all; just what’s needed.