Markdown

Hello all,

It appears Markdown is discussed a fair amount, going by the search a bit.

As a bit of a backstory. I’m an application developer, mostly full-stack web, but heavy backend stuff. I’ve been using DevonThink for many years, and am trying to increase my use of it.

I’ve been really liking Markdown, although I think some of it can be improved. Right now, for a lot of my code-related documentation, I use Quiver (an OSX app that acts like Jupyter Notebooks, just without code execution). I would like to, long term, not use that, and document everything directly into DevonThink. The reason comes down to having multiple places to search for something, or exporting notes from Quiver -> DevonThink whenever I modify something (which is fairly often). Quiver also doesn’t have Applescript support, and I already emailed them about that.

Markdown is pretty good so far, but there’s a few things I think could use for improving:

1. I noticed that if you have two lines of text, and render the Markdown file, it will remove the carriage return and put it all into one line. So when separating out sentences, I have to have an extra newline between them. Honestly, I’d consider that a bug, as no other markdown systems I’ve used have this issue.
  2. Syntax highlighting. There are some extensions to Markdown that allow for syntax highlighting. A small example is: support.codebasehq.com/articles … n-markdown

Quiver may be worth looking at for inspiration on how they solve it. I wouldn’t go quite as far as they do though. They store all the source files in JSON, which would make it a nightmare to edit. They also have blocks of different content (e.g. RTF in one, Markdown in another, etc). It’s kinda nice, but I think it adds too much complexity to be worthwhile. But, I think looking at some of the extended typescript support, and adding that in would be a worthwhile feature update.