Multi-User Small Office Setup

I have been using DT Pro personally for a couple of months and was significantly impressed to investigate expanding its use to the rest of my office. Therefore, I was going to run my setup by the experts.

I have two physical offices-4 users in main office, and 1 user in a remote office. I setup a test installation with DT Pro installed in the main office on 2 Macbook Pros, 1 iMac, and 1 MacMini all connected on a ethernet LAN to a MacMini Server with Mavericks and OSX Server 3.0 installed. All user machines also have Mavericks installed.

I am using the MacMini Server to host a Local Sync Store for the main office, and plan, not yet implemented, a VPN for the Remote Office.

Each user has 3 DT Pro databases. A personal database ranging up to 1gb in size, a company HQ database currently at 45.7gb, and a Photographs database currently at 13.2gb. The personal database does not sync to the MiniServer, but instead syncs with DropBox for personal remote Macs and also with DevonThinkToGo on iDevices. The other two are meant to only sync over the Lan with the local machines.

The companyHQ database contains everything under the sun. Pages, Numbers, Keynote, iDraw, PDF’s, as well as photographs for specific jobs we have done. This is the one I am starting to have problems with. 3 out of the 4 users have metadata can’t find file errors and only 1 user properly syncs with the MiniServer

The two other databases, personal and Photographs, seem to be working fine. I have been disappointed at the speed of syncing as well as the necessity of users not syncing at the same time because of file use errors.

Is this a reasonable usage of DT Pro?
Do I have the servers/workstations setup properly for my scenario?

Thanks for taking the time to read.