Multiple drafts/versioning workflow?

Hi! I’m brand new to DT, and still getting my feet wet, but I’ve run into one stumbling block I haven’t yet figured out how to get around.

A big part of my job is sending drafts and redlines of contracts back and forth. I need to keep a copy of each iteration, so that I can go back and see the negotiation history and who suggested what changes when, etc.

The way I have been doing this is I have a separate folder for each contract, where I save all versions as they come in or out. When I get the latest draft from someone, I save a copy into the corresponding folder, then make my edits to it (almost without exception these are MS Word files and use “Save As” to save it as a new version. Often I will do it twice: once in redline and then again clean. It’s not unusual for me to have 20 or 30 versions of a single contract.

Where I am running into trouble is “Save As”:

1. I receive a draft in an email from Joe; let’s call it v.1.
  2. I drag and drop the attachment into the appropriate DevonThink database & group.
  3. When I’m ready to revise it, I go to the DT group for that contract and open the file in Word.
  4. I make my changes, and now I want to save a copy of v.1 as v.2.
  5. When I choose “save as” MS Word takes me by default to the folder inside the database file where v.1 is saved (at least, I think that’s where it takes me. the path is something like “Contracts.dtBase2/Files.noindex/docx/a”).
  6. I rename it to v.2 and hit the “Save” button.