My (still basic) use case of DTPO as an interpreter

I figured I would make this post in the hopes that there are other translators and interpreters who trawl through these forums.

I recently took advantage of the recent Black Friday / Cyber Monday sale to upgrade my copy of DEVONthink Pro to DEVONthink Pro Office because of the mail importing feature (which I have been using regularly) and the web server feature (which I plan to use due to having a Windows machine).

I am a freelance translator and interpreter by trade. Since I am not a full-timer who is part of a specific company, I have clients of various fields ranging from agriculture to finance, and more often than not, these are fields that have zero relevance with my formal education. This means that I have to become familiar with my client’s expertise very quickly in order to do my job effectively - after all, translation and interpretation is not merely taking the utterances of one language and changing them into another language.

Even before the upgrade, DEVONthink Pro has been extremely useful in helping me familiarizing myself with my clients’ material and relevant documents I come across on my own while researching. In fact, the two features that make DTP worth its price, and then some, are concordance and See Also.