Need a horizontal scrollbar for metadata

Hello, I really need a horizontal scrollbar to see more metadata of the files. Now the space is too limited to show more content. In fact, I want to show more metadata like filetype, author, etc. But finally I gave it up cuz it was too crowded. So I think a horizontal scrollbar would help a lot. I would appreciate it if you could consider my suggestion.

P.S. Please excuse any mistakes cuz I am not good at English.

1 Like

Welcome @betameta

Your suggestion is noted.

Do note you can see the tags for a selected file in the Tools > Info inspector or the View > Show Tags bar under the view/edit pane as well.

Thanks for your reply. I know the existence of Info inspector and tags bar. But the key point is a horizontal scrollbar needs no clicks and you can quickly browse and compare metadata of all the files at the same time.

I am curious why (and how) you have such long, concatenated tags.

These long and concatenated tags come from the file itself. All the files in the screenshot are academic journal articles and the PDFs include Keywords metadata. However, most of the time the Keywords are like this:

I have turned on Covert Keywords to Tags in the Preferences. Therefore, when these pdfs are indexed in DT, the Keywords become concatenated tags. It doesn’t matter, anyway. Because I will split the concatenated tags into independent ones including only one word, manually. I would appreciate it if you consider modifying the Covert Keywords to Tags feature and then DT could convert semicolon-separated Keywords metadata into separated tags.

Finally, I still need a horizontal scrollbar as I also want to display other metadata like the Year, Author, etc. I use DT as my reference management tool though my university provides Endnote for students. It is because DT is such a brilliant software!

Why not use a script for that?

1 Like