New and confused!

Im a newbie so please be kind:

After the best part of eight years slowly collating clippings, pdf’s, web pages, etc. for a book project I am now about to start writing, I took the plunge and bought both DTPO and DTTG and Bookends (nice learning curve!) I am reasonably competent in Scrivener and use it for all my writing projects. All my collated ‘stuff’ is filed carefully and thematically in Dropbox and all my notes (taken from books read etc.) are in OneNote - I’ve yet to see an easy insert of OneNote notes into DTPO although there is one for Evernote? Anyway, I’m at that anxiety piece in that I’m unsure of the best way to progress. Any advice will be welcome:

Do I move all my ‘Dropbox’ stuff into DTPO? If so how? Drag and drop? create replica folders as databases in DTPO?

Do link each separate item from Dropbox (1000s of thematic files) and leave Dropbox ‘as is’. If so, is there an easy ‘fix’?

I am happy to spend the time learning but a number of help pages have returned 404 errors informing me that i was not on the page i wanted (doh!), so thought I would throw my lot in here. This is a huge move for me so any advice gratefully accepted.

For one, I would not be dropping 1000’s of items into your databases until you’ve got your legs under you. DEVONthink is not complicated but you should get comfortable with some basics of organizing in a way that makes sense to you.

Re: the Dropbox stuff, it depends. There are two methods of putting data in a DEVONthink database.

1. Importing copies files into the internal structure of the database. This creates a portable, self-contained database that can be moved as a single file. This is the default behavior of DEVONthink. .
  2. Indexing creates links to files outside the database. This allows more direct access to the files in the Finder by other applications or people. (A common example is people using a cloud service like Dropbox and indexing folders in the local Dropbox folders.)