Newbie needs advice on suitable Mac equip

Hello,

I’m a newbie, to both Apple and DEVONthink, as will become obvious. I’ve spent my life in Windows. Went to Apple store, and came out overwhelmed. May I request suggestions on the equipment I should buy, please.

I know I want portability of laptop or tablet (is Air a tablet, or another variety of laptop?). Was looking at 15" screen in laptop and Air. Became stimied by the unknown. By reading Kissel’s Take Control ebook, I’m pretty sure DEVON will format itself to a 15" screen, but would it be better to dock the portable computer to a larger screen for “heavy lifting” sessions (truthfully, I don’t even know what I mean by that cleaver phrase) in DEVONthink.

Hope I have posed an at least somewhat reasonable question. Don’t hesitate to ask me questions.

Thanks for any help. Bill

Bill, I’d suggest going back to the Apple Store and make an appointment with a rep at the Genius Bar. Explain what worked and didn’t work for you in the Windows world, and what you’re hoping to accomplish with your new Apple kit. There’s no better advice, in my opinion. When you’ve made a purchase, use Apple’s One to One service to transfer your files from your old computer and get basic training on the new Apple.

I wouldn’t get too hung up on which model would be best for running DEVONthink, although a minimum screen resolution of 1440x900 (13" Air and 15" MBP) and a minimum of 4GB RAM would be my starting point. Personally, I believe a well-equiped 13" Air or any of the 15" MacBook Pro models are the sweet spot of the entire Mac lineup, and the rumored 15" Air for 2012 could just be the sweetest yet. I have a 2011 MacBook Pro and it’s the finest computer I have ever owned, and I started with the original 128k Mac in 1984.