Newbie: Using DEVONthink as an Archive and Database?

Hi. I want to get started on DEVONthink.

I have been using Evernote for 10 years as a sort of personal archive that I would throw anything at that I might need later: receipts, pay checks you name it.

I would also migrate documents from the Finder to my Evernote archive when I couldn’t foresee my self needing it actively in the near future, such as a project that was finished or the like.

This was one of my use case for Evernote.

The other was that of a database. I’m a student and I would store hundreds and hundreds of scientific articles and papers in Evernote - most of them were not OCR’ed, but often roughly scanned articles from paper or books that had been put online to download. Evernote would do an alright job at OCR’ring these documents, which were often in Danish.

The point of that “database” was when I needed to look up something for my studies that I knew I could find information about in my database. Evernote would then search everything when I entered a keyword and come up with results, even in the OCR’ered research articles which is what I needed.

Now, I’m curious about using DEVONThink instead. I know that the Pro version will OCR’documents and let me search inside of documents which is what I need.

In Evernote I would have a nested folder thing going on in my archive and my database. So my questions are these:

1. Will the above scenario work with DEVONthink?

2. Can I use a nested folder system in which the top two folders are:
    Archive:
    Receipts
    Clothes
    Home improvement
    Etc…
    Pay checks
    Etc…
    Tax
    Etc…

Research Database: 
          Alien studies 101
              ETC
          Alien studies 102
          ETC

The point of all this is like having a second Finder in a way. But one that will OCR automatically, search inside of documents and one that won’t clutter my actual Finder on my Mac