One Item Added and Converted - Endlessly

I had a story to read aloud. On my iPad I selected “open with” and selected DEVONthink To Go (v4.2.2)—a great solution to the default of having Preview open it—as always at the beginning of the first page.

The next day I began reading it aloud from my last location and every few seconds a message popped in the middle of the screen for a several seconds then dissappearing. I had to sweep and hold the document around it to read. This went on for some time, 5 or 6 iterations. I finally gave up, opened it in preview, hunted for my place and went on.

I just revisited the document to gather data, and see that it has wearied of the task.

Why does this message continue doing this? And how do I avoid.

Example included.

— Gerry

It is trying to import whatever is in the clipboard. It happens to me so and then, but don’t remember how to solve it.

Had you been previously capturing web content?

I did attempt to save a website to DT. It didn’t display right, so I deleted it and stored only the link.

macOS version use to do a good job capturing entire websites, but limitations in DTTG avoid showing them right.

If you want an option with more powerful options, SiteSucker, that I think it is even free. And just saw latest versions allows create PDF… Quite instersing.

It seems I had attempted to save two websites. I deleted the first one. Yesterday after having displayed this message many times over two days suddenly a website appeared in my inbox in DEVONthink to go. I deleted it hopefully that’s the end of that.

It sounds like DEVONthink was trying to finish clipping the page and got stuck. Do you happen to remember what web page this was?

I believe it was this one:

The page definitely loads slowly, loading the book in XML form.

What format were you trying to clip to, e.g., Markdown, etc.?

On my Mac (26.6.2),I attempted to save it as “Web Page, Complete” from Firefox into my “Inbox” (folder/alias folder), which automatically moves entries to my DT (v4.4) inbox.

Thanks. Let us know if the message starts reappearing. But if it does, stop and think if you just clipped something recently.