Organization, disorganization and analysis

I’m new at this. No doubt the answers are here somewhere, but I’m too busy to rummage around, which is the very reason I like DT. That said:

Can groups be “promoted” and “demoted” as easily as one would arrange “groups” in a standard outliner? Sliding and reordering information helps me analyze the structure of my work, writing history and biography.

Also, I’m technically able, but no coder.

Thanks,

Jeff

Yes.

And remember that a document or group can be replicated (‘filed’ in more than one place) as appropriate for your needs.

Thank you, Bill. I’ve been reading through the forums, and I’ve enjoyed your cogent comments. As to the problem, I have yet to find the command or the menu that would allow me to operate DT more as an outline (promoting, demoting, sliding). Perhaps, it’s because I’m a recent PC convert who expects a keyboard command-set to generate operations. How does one structure hierarchies in DT, by mousing around or by keying-up commands? And, if it is possible to use the keyboard, can you tell me how it’s done, or show me where to find an explanation, or direct me to a useful “help menu”? I’d be grateful.

Thank you,

Jeff

Jeff, DT Pro allows one to do simple outline structures of groups hierarchically, as one means of emulating an outliner. The Horizontal Split view was originally called the ‘Outline’ view, because one can create a group that’s to contain a structure of subgroups, open that group in its own window, and select each of the subgroups to see its contents, which may be more subgroups, or documents.

I’m not at all into the niceties of outlining, but I do rough out the structure of a writing project and refine the structure in progress.