Outlook 2011 Integration / Info

I’m new to DT at this point.

Using Outlook 2011 with Exchange and a couple imap accounts. It indexes the messages however, I’ve two issues…

1. How can I rename the message listings it finds with say the subject and from or other such relevant info rather than names like “x00_75296.olk14Message” that I get today. Additionally, can I change the date created to say the time sent or received. Would make it much more useful.

2. At this point, I’ve 120k items in the database. Of that, 115k of that are Outlook messages. How can I search creating a quick filter to remove the messages since 90% of time, I’m looking for other files.

A possible solution I’ve wondered about would be create a new database simply for the messages however, I don’t know how to index a folder (Documents) but exclude a folder AND ALL SUBFOLDERS. I’ve figured out how to exclude the folder however, it appears I need to do it for each subfolder…this won’t work as Outlook changes that constantly every time I add/remove folders which is a fairly common occurrence for me.

Suggestions welcome please.

thanks in advance.
Dave

With indexing a mailbox folder (which I assume is what you are doing) you won’t get the real subject lines of the messages. You’d need to import messages to DEVONthink with the Apple Mail plugin – doesn’t fit your circumstance though – or use DEVONthink Pro Office to import mail from Exchange.

To avoid mail when you search, use the Search window, and in the Advanced options use Kind is not Mail.

I don’t want to import mail though because then I lose it on the PC as well as the mobile devices, in particular the mobile devices (Android phone in particular) since I trust it would be available for search in the DT To Go on my ipad. That’s assuming import actually removes it from exchange… is that a correct assumption…

Is there an option to index Exchange mail instead?