PDF highlighting and file size

I am new to DT. I plan to use it for organizing assorted PDFs for research and writing. I had imported a PDF with a small megabyte size (6.5 MB). It was a free pdf from Google Books. It was already editable and searchable prior to dragging it into DT. I simply dragged and dropped the document into DT. It seemed like all was working great. However, two things occurred:

1. When I highlighted text in the document, it would initially show up in the annotation list with the actual text listed that I highlighted. However, after several minutes I could no longer highlight the text and the text I did highlight turned blank in the content column of annotations.

2. After several minutes the 6.5 MB (labeled as a “PDF+text” document) would convert to a “PDF document” and would increase in size to a hefty 40-50 MB. Not only did this create a size issue but it also seemed to be related to the issue above (number 1) of not being able to highlight text throughout the document as able when I first imported it or even outside the program with a pdf viewer.

I am not sure if there is a setting issue or if I don’t understand how DT works. I would appreciate any help as this snag has become an initial frustration in using the program.

Any guidance or help for a newbie would be great.

Welcome @mattlynskey

A URL for the PDF so we can download and test it would be helpful.

Thanks for the help. This phenomenon occurs on several pdfs.

Here are a couple of links where a similar thing occurs:

1. https://books.googleusercontent.com/books/content?req=AKW5QadDtKAOnVXMHKSa1fSjCBqL2W5gFvlm5TFlufGRP6X0XnD6__S9N6EqjIPD3MT86TwZ1cS-p3N0wkwZpzPS2Cnzkxg4Q5RoHBFhyQglELTDvytEr_zuslbzUM2kFI-ReGyZ_OyhuVL9KZX613PW7KVWa0uBuIj-8kKaWf7ifk0pzqO6CP6kpKG8DW3FF4X9LjwB2OHCWrtXfRIxwxzQ9Y-xp-LEaijZK5hY7dOtFjJj6cJzScwUK94rGcuJYqkRYwPkV6BwcTShNVF6Tu5JKEqmMczhcg