.pdf, Optical Character Recognition of documents DevonThink

Maybe, I’m not a Professional.

I’m work to fill my database with documents.

I let scan a lot of paper originals in my coompany from our own scan service office.

They should use a optical character recognition.

I can read the .pdf output with Adobe Acrobat.

I can open the .pdf in DT database.

But if I open different .pdf in DevonThink sometimes there is nothing to see, sometimes I see text.

What can be the reason, what must I check.

Jochen (.de)

Jochen,

what’s displayed when you open such a document in Preview? Because DT should be able to display everything that can be displayed via Preview (as both of them use the Quartz engine of Mac OS X).

I I click on info of the document there ist type PDF+Text
The document have 20 pages

If I click on the document in DT I see only blank pages
If I open the document in DT I see blank pages
If I open the document in DT with Adobe Acrobat reader 7.0 I see the text
If I open the document in DT with Adobe Acrobat reader 5.0 I see the text
If I open the document in DT with Apples Preview I see blank pages, but in the sidebar on the right I can see the text

If I search in Preview to words in the sidebar the words are listed and in the main window of Preview there is a marked field to this word, but I cannot see the word.

I use Mac OS X 10.3.9 and DT pro 1.0.2 (license)

Jochen (.de)

Sounds that the documents use a PDF version which the Quartz engine of Mac OS X 10.3.x can’t display (Tiger is able to display the latest versions). There are only two solutions: Converting the documents via Acrobat to an older version or upgrading to Tiger.

Thanks for quick answer.

If I open the document with problem with Acrobat Reader 7 I see following in the menue / file / document properties
PDF created with Adobe Acrobat 6.02 (Paper Capture Plug in)
PDF version 1.5 ((Acrobat 6.x)

An other document with no problem show.