Please help with advice on Devonthink workflow

Hi

I’m a Devonthink newbie. I’m also a post-grad law student at the beginning of work on a thesis. I have a current workflow using Apple Notes and Hook - but I want to migrate to Devonthink for all of the reasons you’re here too. I need to understand how Devonthink can improve my current workflow and whether my existing routine is no longer appropriate.

Current Workflow:

1. I’ve been saving my resources as .pdfs in Finder folders by country/subject (legislation, government publications, articles, scholarly reviews, etc.) on my macbook’s hard drive.

2. I then open a .pdf in Adobe and use the comment functions to annotate my notes and comments - and then save those changes.

3. I then use Hookmark to hook that locally saved .pdf to a new Apple Note where the entire project is organized.

I use this routine because it is imperative that as I revisit the locally-saved .pdfs and continue to add notes, hooks, references, etc., that the document available via Hookmark in the Apple Note is always pointed to the most recent version of the locally-saved .pdf.

After exporting Apple Notes to DT3 (I believe there is now a convenient tool to do that) I expect that each Apple Note will magically appear in DT3 in the similarly organized nested DT3 folder - and each file will contain/retain the Hookmark links to its locally-saved hard drive copy.

What I now ask myself is whether my Apple Notes workflow still makes sense - or whether DT3 allows me to reduce the workflow, or whether I’m missing something altogether in what I should expect to see after export. I’m worried that I’m going to pull the trigger and either shoot myself in the foot or make myself miserable with more work than anticipated.

Countless DT3 users have been through this sort of research and academic writing scenario - and I’m hoping that one of them can help out a newbie.

Thanks so much and I look forward to any responses.