Recommened sync option

Dear all
I’m new to DevonThink and currently in trail mode for DTOP. All my Evernote notes have been imported and so far I really love the product.

It’s important to me that my data can be accessed on my iPad and iPhone so have just bought DTTG. My question is which sync option do you recommend when having data security and reliability in mind?

I’m of course reading the manual and this makes me a bit nervous:
“We highly discourage simply moving a DEVONthink database to e.g. a cloud drive (like Dropbox,
iCloud Drive, or OneDrive) and trust the cloud drive provider’s app to do the right thing. Databases are complex packages and not made for concurrent access or simple file syncs. The build-in synchronization uses a container format built for synchronizing over a variety of channels including direct connections, local volumes, or internet-based file services.”

So what do you suggest?

Thanks for your time and input - sorry if this already have been addressed earlier in the forum.

Remember that a database is not the same as a sync store located in a cloud service (e.g., Dropbox). The warning you cited is cautioning you not to put databases in the cloud. Sync stores, on the other hand, were designed to be used in clouds. Cloud based sync is reliable. Is it secure? Nothing on the public internet is secure from theft, IMO.

The “best” method, then, for data you cannot risk being compromised is sync with your iOS devices using Bonjour over WiFi.

korm is correct. If you want YOUR data to stay in YOUR hands, no cloud provider can 100% guarantee your data is safe. A Bonjour Sync between Mac and mobile devices is the most secure route.

Does this mean you can’t Sync between the Mac at home and mobile devices when you’re out and about? Yes. But (1) ask yourself if you REALLY need constant Syncing between them (and truly, most people don’t), and (2) this is maintaining security by keeping your DEVONthink data off-the-grid.

Dear Korm & Bluefrog