RegEx - Batch Rename - lowercase to Title Case

Hi gang!

I need some help please. I have zero RegEx experience and need to do a simple batch rename of my files.

Please can you help with what I need to write in Source Pattern and Destination Pattern pop-up windows to transform from lowercase to Title Case.

Thank you in advance for the help!

Capitalizing the first letter can be done with regex. Title case requires a script to filter out small words that are left uncapitalized. Here’s a perl version: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ap/titlecase/master/titlecase

Hi jongilizwe,

Thank you for your reply.

I’ve copied and pasted the script you directed me to in the Script Editor, but I got the following error.

I’d be grateful for your advice as to how I can get this working.

Thank you!

That is a Perl script, not an AppleScript, so it can’t be run like that.

I’m curious why you need to titlecase your filenames.

Hi BLUEFROG,

Simply, an aesthetic preference and I find it easier to read the filename when it’s in Title Case.

If you can offer an alternative script to perform this, I’d be grateful.

i too would LOVE this

Turning filename into title case (e.g. Multiple Regression: Testing and Interpreting Interactions) might be a lot more tricky than turning the first letter of each word of the filename (e.g. Multiple Regression: Testing And Interpreting Interactions) into Upper case.

I was just going to comment on that.

Purists would complain about stop-words being in titlecase _(and I’m not a purist). If that’s acceptable, I can offer a suggestion.

I use this Alfred workflow which is where I pinched the script URL from. You can set it up with hotkeys to change the case of any selected text in any app.

I’m not at my Mac to confirm, but isn’t this built into the OS via the Context Menu > Transformations?

Good to know

Note: That’s assuming people are running Alfred (or some other such utility). Not everyone is, or is inclined to.