Reliable type checking and file paths

Howdy,

I’d just like to say to start that I’ve just purchased DEVONthink pro after playing with it for about two weeks. I think it’s a spectacular piece of software: you guys have really done a great job.

I hate to make my first post on these forums a scripting question, but I’ve been hammering at this script for a couple hours and I’m a little stuck. I have never done any applescripting before, so I apologize if these questions are a bit on the common-sense side. What I am attempting to write is a script to generate a LaTeX file from a group in DT. I have it working in a rough way I would like it to for rtf/txt and groups, but I’ve hit a few small snags and I’m curious if anyone might have some suggestions.

My first problem is that I’m having some troulbe reliably detecting the type of a record. The following code:

set recordType to the type of theRecord as string
		display alert "DEVONthink Pro" message recordType

The above seems to produce different results when run from the Script Editor than it does when run from within the scripts menu in DT pro. If it run it from the editor, I get results like “group” or “txt”, if I run it from the scripts menu I get a crazy pointer type like “<<constant ****DTgr>>” or “<<constant ****pict>>”. I’m guessing this is a context problem, so I assume I’m just doing something stupid here… does anyone happen to have a suggestion on how to reliably check the type of a record object? Should a create a new record object, set its type and use that as a baseline?