Save as PDF to Devon using title from Filemaker

Hi real Newbie here,

We’ve set up DevonPro Office, and bought a Fujitsu scanner.
We have Save to Devon as pdf working in Filemaker but the problem is the ‘Title’ of the document that we produce in Filemaker doesn’t transfer to the ‘Name’ in the Devon window that comes up.

The title of the actual Filemaker database is there but we can’t use this title. All reports are carefully scripted to adhere to a particular naming convention.
Saving 100’s of reports a day has become tedious by manually cutting and pasting the title to the name in to save to Devon. I’ve looked at Hazel, am tinkering with Applescript and have searched Devon’s file of handy applescripts and workflows but none of them mention saving the titles.

I’ve read the manual multiple times and can’t seem to find what I need to do.
I tried changing all 3 Devon’s title preferences with no difference.

I’m surprised this is happening and hope someone can offer me a simple solution?
Surely this must be something I’m missing.
Thanks so much.

D.Chabot

We are all Macs using Mountain Lion 10.8, Filemaker Server 11Advanced and Fujitsu Scanner. (we’re struggling to get scanned docs into devon but that’s another question)

You will find the same shortcoming in the other PDF Services displayed on the print menu – it is not something that DEVONthink either causes or can change.

The correct approach is to prepare a FileMaker script that produces PDFs and creates an output name for the PDF based on the value of the report’s title. The method is described in FileMaker’s documentation and is discussed on their forum.

Thanks for your response.

We do have a script in Filemaker that produces a pdf with title.
I altered that script to call the ‘Save as Pdf to Devon’ by calling a print script which is set to ‘Save as pdf to devon’.

The Devon window comes up as expected and we can select which folder to save it to, and thats great but the title has to be manually typed in.