Script for annotating by paragraph

I am looking for a way to script note-taking at the paragraph level. I am new to DevonThink. I have no programming / scripting skills. I am a PhD student trying to finish my thesis in social science.

Scenario: I have ca 4000 docs/pdfs that I’ve collected over the past three 3 years. These vary in terms of quality and depth. The ideas expressed in them are not always coherent or flow, but there might be some good bits at paragraph level. I could of course search/tag everything but I would still need to hunt through each one separately to find the good bits. Also, I assume that DT’s AI capabilities are aided by dividing the docs into smaller pieces.

Solution?: I wonder if anyone has a script (or could easily make one) that creates a note from every paragraph in the doc/pdf, uses the first 50 (or so) characters of the first sentence as the note title, and compiles/merges these into one annotation template so they can be viewed in context in the original doc/pdf (one annotation template per for doc/pdf).

My idea is based partly on this script for importing Skim pdf annotations into DT: complexpoint.macmate.me/Site … think.html . While it works okay with pdfs that are all ready annotated I am looking for something to process docs and pdfs that have yet to be annotated. Also this script creates a seperate note/annotation template, one for each highlight/comment. It would be better if these were all collected/collated onto the same annotation template, one per doc/pdf.

Of course I probably would not want to perform this on all the docs/pdfs but at least 500 or so.

Does this make any sense? I’m grateful for any and all input from those more skilled than I!

You want to take every paragraph in a PDF document, strip all but the first 50ish characters, and combine the truncated paragraphs back into a new document?