Script to export only new or modified files of all databases

What I want to accomplish is have all databases in an external disk, exported but accessible as if they were indexed. Why? Because in that situation I can access those files from Windows (for example). Indexing here is not an option.

I’m using the script described here as base:

From other messages, there is no option go across all open databases, then the script must be run manually for each database. Not a problem here. I could have an array of strings with the database names and loop over the arrays, or have one script for each database.

My main problem is how to check if destination record exists and is different, and do it only with files and not with tags or smart rules.

And, of course, being a seasoned C++ developer myself, AppleScript have completely alien concepts to me. :frowning_face:

Any help is appreciated.

1 Like
  • the databases have to be open before you can access them.
  • looping over all of them should not be a problem.
  • you can probably compare modification times of the record in the database and of the file on external disk.
  • do you want to replicate database structure, too? Than you’d have to create folders on the disk for the database groups
  • no need to use Applescript, JavaScript works with DT as well. See Introduction to JXA | JavaScript for Automation (JXA) for an introduction and some examples for DT. You’ll find others here in the forum.

Totally unrelated: is that really worth it? DT provides an export option already. That might be easier (and faster) than this scripting approach. Of course, if you’re working with 10s or 100s of gigabyte, always exporting all of them might be too slow.