Script to mass change file Modified Date to Created Date

I have notes that have traveled various computer, backups, and formats. I’m trying to reconsolidate them inside of DTP. Since these notes are like a journal, I’d like the created dates to be accurate. However, I notice that, though at some point the created dates were changed during a backup–but the modified dates are usually accurate and sometimes I know the year because the notes are in a folder with a year.

I’d like to run a script that goes like this: If modified date is older than created date, then change created date to modified date.

I don’t code and I’m new to DevonThink (and Mac), but I’m willing to mess around and adapt an existing script if necessary. This script would have to check tens of thousands of files.

Thanks.

A script would be simple but there is no need for that:

Just select the items you want to change, click Tools/Batch Process and choose the appropriate values.

I would recommend to first test it on test data and later, when you are sure everything works as it is supposed to, not to apply it on tens of thousands of items in one go. Just for precaution.

The batch processing does not include a condition but it works anyway as the Modification Date is always newer than or identical to the Creation Date.

1 Like

I think the OP is asking for a date change when the modification date is older than the creation date, whereas you are suggesting the modification date must always be newer than (or equal to) the creation date.

Whilst I agree that the modification date should typically be newer than the creation date, I seem to remember that - in the old days on Windows at least - copy actions could change those dates, leaving the created date newer than the modification date. Whether that was ever the case on macOS and whether it might be dependent on the filesystem used, I don’t know.

1 Like