Seriously trying the DT way, but not quite there

Some background: I’m trying the demo of DEVONthink. All of my current text and bookmark content is in NoteTaker, and my more graphical diagrams in Curio. I’ve made (pretty much) a duplicate of my stored content and bookmarks into DT. This of course has meant the investment of a lot of hours of organizing, reformatting, etc. Everything seems to be there. Searching is fine, etc. Just to make clear that I am really giving this a go, and not creating my review based on a light examination.

I’m a professional technologist. My content is everything from articles, to code-snips, to server configurations, passwords, software registrations… It is obviously important to be able to review and maintain this stuff in a single application. NoteTaker does a pretty good job, but has a clumsy search implimentation, and a limited concept of the shape of data. I’m feeling the need to find something better - which doesn’t seem to exist.

Migrating to a new tool for this task is a big commitment. Not in terms of money, but in terms of workflow. It is not a decision I take lightly at all, because I am entrusting the care of my company’s most valuable data to it as well. It leaves me in a weird place, because I can’t easily go forward on my data creation until I know where it will really be “living”. I need to create a workflow around some new tool which I can expect to use for the forseeable future. To that end, I’ve made the rounds again. Looking at all the available tools and alternatives.

In many ways, DT seems to improve on the alternatives. It is versatile, fast, scriptable, and has excellent search functionality. So what is the problem then?