Some questions about webarchives and the like.

Hi,

I’ve been a user of Devonthink Pro for several months. I initially used it just as a research database for my thesis and it worked beautifully. With that done, I am now using it for personal stuff (i.e. saving interesting articles, general research, etc.) I have some questions about saving stuff from the internet.

1.) I have two databases: Personal Database and Thesis Database. When I use the clip to Devonthink button in Firefox 4, with the destination: Personal Database, the webarchive file does not appear in that particular database’s inbox. In order to find it I have to click out to my other database (Thesis), then click back in to the Personal Database to see the article. When I push the info button for the file the location is: Personal Database. Not: Personal Database>inbox. Shouldn’t it go directly to the inbox when clipped?

2.) If I have a long form magazine article (say an article from New York Times magazine that is 12 internet pages), I usually want to save it as a single pdf page. I click single page on the article website, then use the clip to Devonthink button. It clips it as a webarchive (or pdf, my choice) but it does not save it as one page. My work around for this is to make the web page a single page, drag the address to the sorter (as a bookmark), then convert the url to pdf.(by script) Any suggestions to make this “quicker”

3.) BTW, is there any reason not to convert urls to pdf’s? The pdf’s seem to be smaller size and without all the blinking ads that come with a webarchive.

4.) Finally, anyway to make the default browser within Devonthink Firefox. i.e., the “open with” button on the toolbar would read “open with Firefox”, NOT “open with Safari”

Thanks again. Devonthink is a wonderful program that has benefited my academic studies, now hoping to use it to organize my personal life!

RC