Sorter opens list of subgroups when I drag an item to the main group

I love DEVONthink and have used it for years. My problem is probably a simple irritation but when I move an item from my desktop or a folder on my Mac to the sorter (great resource!) I am trying to transfer them into a major group to sort them later.

For an hypothetical example: suppose I have a PDF of a subscription that is coming up for renewal, so I drag it to the Sorter, which shows all the folders I have in my group Subscriptions 23, which contains three subfolders titled: Items Sorted, Subscriptions Coming For Renewal 23, Subscriptions Duplicates, Websites 23. I simply want to drop the PDF into the main group Subscriptions 23, and DO NOT want to Subscriptions 23 to open up and show all the other subgroups in Subscriptions 23. How can I stop that from happening.

It is very frustrating because I have to go back and close the Subscriptions 23 folder because it is both confusing and cluttering to have them open - I often have several Databases open at the same time and there is only limited room in the Sorter for viewing.

I know this is not major but sure would appreciate some way to stop the dropdown until and unless I need it.

Thank you for your help. Great program and always been well supported through the years. Keep up the excellent work!!

The Sorter should actually remember the last expanded groups and doesn’t expand groups on its own. Isn’t that the case?