Suggestions (from a nutty novelist)

Back History: I’m writing a series of ten big books. Lots of characters, storylines, text, et cetera. Been working for ten years. Sanity–;

MediaWiki: What I’ve been using for a couple years now. Or, really, MediaWiki + EasyTimeline + GraphViz + dozens of other extensions. Works well, capable of almost anything, completely bewildering to track since it’s not very hierarchical, and in general a real pain in the ass.

DEVONthink: I love it. Been using it for a week and enthusiastically switched over my MediaWiki the other day. Handled the import of 1047 documents like a pro, and I don’t mean prokaryote.

What I Want: I don’t think I’m the first to request any of these features, or at least features like these. I just want to add my voice to the list. Here goes:

• GraphViz support. GraphViz is a fantastic open source tool for plotlines, storylines, genealogies, all sorts of things. Current integration (with the command line tool as well as the OS X version is basically non-existent. Import a vector graphic, with the WikiLink functionality in a text layer on top of it? If this was available only as a plugin, I’d still pay for it, and I think a lot of other writers would too.

• Timeline support. I’m not crazy about EasyTimeline, and I don’t think many people are. But some kind of timeline mechanism would be fantastic.

• Template support for sheet/record display. I’m sure you have something like this in the works, but I’d love it. Even if the sheets were just HTML with a little markup sub-language to show DT where to display the values. Anything. AN-Y-THING.