Sync an encrypted database between devices - no database password necessary

Hi, I’m completely new to DEVONthink. I have a database which should be synced between my Mac, my iPhone and my iPad via the new CloudKit solution. Since this database contains sensitive information, it has to be E2E encrypted. I took the following steps:

-installed DEVONthink on my Mac

-created an encrypted database with password 1

-activated CloudKit sync for that database with a new password (password 2)

-installed DEVONthink to go on my iPad

-activated CloudKit sync with a new password (I reused password 2)

-now everything syncs perfectly

My question: what is the purpose of password 1 if it is only required on my Mac? I never had to type it in on my iPhone or iPad. Is this expected behaviour?

Did I do something wrong? In my understanding, I should have to type my password 1 in on each new device to unlock my encrypted database.

It would be great if you could help me with my questions…

It’s only the key for the locally encrypted database. You can add dedicated credentials to File > Database Properties which will be used by the synchronization before importing a database onto another device.

Hi, thank you for your answer. I now had time to review your answer, but it is still unclear for me how to achieve an End-to-End encrypted synching via CloudKit.
Are the credentials you mentioned sufficient for that?

If you encrypt the sync connection, then the encryption starts at your computer on the upload, stays on the Apple CloudKit in encrypted form, then when you sync down to another device, that device de-crypts. That is how I understand it.

To be specific about your concerns when you say “end-to-end”, exactly what are you defining as your “end” points? Different than explained above?

This is exactly what I want, thank you very much.
I’m just confused how I encrypt the sync process… on my Mac I had to choose a new password, which I had to type twice, which I understand.