Synchronize, import?

I’ve found any number of posts talking around this, but none seem to hit the nail on the head, so here’s my question:

How can I get DT to automatically import any new files that I add to a folder, a folder that I’ve already imported to DT, without duplicates?

Yes, that’s it, that’s all that I want to know.

And I’m very new to both DT and to Macs, so please don’t assume that I know anything.

Thanks in advance!

The one thing I found is that file, synchronize, appears to do the trick fairly well. I’m still working on the automator task, and will likely have an article up soon after I figure that part out. Right now I have it synchronizing including additions to the folder as long as automator is open, but when I run it from the script menu within DevonThink, it does nothing.

Thanks, I wondered about Automator. As I said I know nothing about Macs. I’ll look at that and I’d be very grateful if you could post any breakthroughs here!

[Note to forum moderator: this topic seems miscategorized under DT/DN Tips & Tricks]

Well anything that I tried in Automator seemed to do nothing and gave me a warning that I can’t figure out how to read.

I have this folder imported into my inbox, and the closest thing that I can see to doing what I want is to dump that folder into Sorter and drop files into it as I need to. Thing is, that seems like a hell of a kludge, and offends my general ethic of laziness, as I strongly feel that I should only have to save a file once. I often need to open these files through the other applications as well and I want them kept in a certain folder hierarchy for that; I don’t want to put all those folders and sub folders into Sorter, I have about 20 on the go at the moment.

I thought that perhaps I could rig a database to utilize the path name of the folder (folder*) but there seems to be no way to do that.

I do appreciate that this is a database, not a folder hierarchy, but there simply has to be a way!