Syntax highlighting in markdown

I’m looking for simple instructions in how to set up syntax highlighting for editing Markdown documents in DT3.

I gather from searching the help files, forums and the Web that it’s possible, but I’m unable to make it work, or even follow much of the discussion here – I’m a journalist, not a developer.

Can someone point me to, or create, a step-by-step “for dummies” instruction guide to setting this up? I’d love to ditch Ulysses/Multimarkdown Composer/other markdown editor and just write my documents in DevonThink.

Thanks!

1 Like

Are you referring to syntax highlighting while you edit or when previewing?

While editing.

There is no syntax highlighting while editing for Markdown files. It’s just a plain text presentation.

Alas! But at least now I know. Thanks!

Would love to see this as a feature in DT. While previewing Markdown is nice I really want to see basic MultiMarkdown syntax highlighting.

1 Like

Same. Consider this a feature request, if I did not make that clear earlier.

Doesn’t have to be fancy. Bold text should be bold. When entering hyperlinks, mute the brackets and parentheses and the URL itself. Etc.

If you want to get fancy, add folding from headers, and give me a handle with which to drag each header (and the text below it) up and down.

Bold text should be bold. When entering hyperlinks, mute the brackets and parentheses and the URL itself. Etc.

What you’re asking for is not syntax highlighting but either a hybrid rendering (showing control characters and their effects in the same window) or edting in preview mode. Both would not be simply done (and it would certainly have to be optional as some people would like neither option (and I personally do not like the hybrid rendering style)).

Syntax highlighting while editing just be like this…

(And no that’s not an example in DEVONthink :slight_smile: ).