Teacher and teaching with DEVONthink and other tools

Hello dear community

I have happily been using this forum for a long time now and been learning a lot from all your contributions!

I work as a university teacher and have a question about workflow (which is also some kind of a loud unfinished thought :wink: ). So i’ve been slowly establishing a workflow and have some kind of idea about what I want. I bought and experimented with all the tools and apps I need (including reading up on Zettelkasten and Dini’s fine book Taking smart notes with DEVONthink), so here goes:

• Zotero is my reference tool. I mainly work with physical books and references, and therefore mainly use my Zotero for tracking. If I find a book at the library that I want to read sometime or for some reason want to be a part of my database system, I can quickly add it to the reference database by scanning the barcode or writing the ISBN. I don’t want to use Zotero for PDF-storing or notes etc.

• In my DT-database, I would love to have some automation where each reference in Zotero is added to DT as a group. What I want to do, is to have a group for each reference. In this group I can add my markdown notes for the reference. I can also add scans of the books’ table of content and indexes/registers with the app Abbyy Finereader. In this way I can use DT as a library where I can search for all keywords and find in what book I can read about this.

• Other apps I have and maybe want to add to my workflow is Hazel, Drafts, Obsidian. I have some difficulties in establishing a line between what material I should create externally, for example material I use for the students or for presentations (should I use Apple’s Pages and Keynote?). Should it be possible for me to do EVERYTHING in DT and just leave behind the Finder’s folder/Pages and Keynote?

On a side note, I can add that I keep my database on an external SSD.