The problem of the auto(suggest)-tagging

The topic is more relevant to those who are investigating how to use tags to classify and to retrieve knowledge from long (academic) literature with multiple attributes (field, topic, context, subject, theory, methodology, design, evidence, author, etc.) and short research notes. Moreover, this post is about “is auto(suggested) tagging feasible?” and not about “is it effective to use tags for info-categorisation?”. The answer to the latter is likely contingent on the user’s preference, habits, the purpose and design of the tags, and workflow.

The context. I have been working on-and-off on a script that will suggest a list of possible tags from the existing tag-groups for categorising literature (pdf) and research notes (rich text or markdown). I am not a seasoned programmer nor have any knowledge of AI. Therefore I focus on identifying brute-force matching methods and utilising DT’s internal functions of concordance and see-also.

If someone is reading this post, I look forward to hearing alternative methods and different methodology, within the capacity of a single user, in tackling the problem of auto-tagging.

My findings
First, it is not feasible to precisely auto-tag long and content-complex materials. However, a cocktail of brute-matching methods can create a useful list of tags suggestion. Such shortlist can help the user to narrow down the choices from existing tags and reduce the creation of redundant tags during the categorisation process. Second, shorter cited text and research notes are typically more homogeneous and with fewer attributes. A cocktail of multiple brute-matching methods, together with good practice in file-naming, can produce a rather precise suggestion of tags.