To Do List app that works with DevonThink Pro

Hi,

Ive been using DTPro for about a week now and it’s really improving my workflow. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions for a GTD to do app that works nicely with DevonThink?

I have a paid ToodleDo subscription which expires next year, and it works well through the browser and iOS, but it has it’s limitations. I was wondering about the workflow that other folks were using. TIA.

No doubt you’ll get replies, but have you browsed this forum using “Advanced Search”? Or the DEVONtechnologies blog? Of even the internet in general on how different people have blogged on this topic? It’s a pretty common question – but also one that has no single answer.

Personally, I use OmniFocus for most repetitive planning and tracking, and it was originally spec-built around the GTD concept. It’s also consistently available on macOS and iOS, which can be useful.

I use Curio for scoping out major projects. And I frequently just use plain paper and notebooks.

More important is merely visualizing what I need to get done and when with memory palaces.

I’m not an adherent of GTD – I think its time came and is long gone. You know the saying about “a foolish consistency…” and so on – GTD is prone to that scene.

Where does DEVONthink fit into this mélange? Well, that’s where a good portion of my work-in-progress and research data are, so I link to things in DEVONthink from OF or Curio etc.

DEVONthink is not a task planner per se, in my view, without a lot of fiddling. It’s sort of fragile on that front, in my own experience. Sort of like making a Cadillac into a milk wagon. You can do better.

Thanks, Korm. Yes, I looked around everywhere and came to the same result, no magic ideas or solutions. I agree, DT is not a task planner, and Ive learned my lesson not to push as app too far into another purpose (which it how I got to DT - story in itself). I get what you are saying, and I will admit Im overthinking it just a bit.