We sometimes receive questions about one-way syncing, similar to how backup applications work. But synchronization is not a backup and DEVONthink’s sync is not a one-way process. DEVONthink uses a two-way or bi-directional sync, which means, it keeps the databases on each syncing device in the same state, so each device “mirrors” the others. This concept is also foundational to cloud services, so it’s worth understanding.
The modifications in a database that synchronize between our applications include: adding, removing, grouping and ungrouping, changing metadata like tags, content changes in documents, etc. Some other properties that are synced depend on your sync location settings, which you can find in Settings > Sync > Locations > Show location info. These may include label colors and names, reading positions in PDF documents, and custom metadata changes relevant to Pro and Server users of our desktop application.
Bi-directionality means, that modifications to a database on one device affect the copy of the same database on the other syncing devices. This also means there is no defined “master” database, even if you work primarily on one device. Every device has the authority to sync its changes to the other devices. In a collaborative setting, it’s even more important to understand this.
Imagine you usually work with your database on a Mac Studio. While you’re out, you delete a group in the database on your iPhone. You effectively just deleted that group from the database on your other devices, because that will happen when they sync. If you are using a remote sync option, like Dropbox, you have remotely deleted that group and may not find that out until you get back home.
Earlier this year, we wrote A Sync Checklist for DEVONthink that you may also want to have a look at. Also, if you work in a team environment and could use more granular control over who can change what, the web interface provided by DEVONthink Server might be an option.

