"Update indexed items" does nothing

I have a folder with many pdfs which have been indexed in Devonthink some time ago. Today I added a new pdf file to the folder. Since Devonthing did not automatically discover it, I pressed “Update Indexed Items” in the File-menu. But this does nothing whatsoever. Well, one strange thing is happening. Every now and then (I have tried Updating the Indexed files about 50 times by now) I notice that the number of items in the group is reduced by one. So instead of adding my new file to the index it seems to be taking away some. Sometimes. For no reason.

Is this a bug? I’m on DT 3.7.1 on Big Sur (11.3).

Could it be that you have a Smart Rule moving, say, newly-indexed files to another location; and/or that in fact you or something IS actually deleting the PDFs in question in the Finder thus causing DT to update what it thinks is really in the location it’s (not?) indexing?

I’m pretty new to DT and haven’t yet gotten as far as creating smart rules. So unless DT magically creates such rules by itself or comes with them, I have no such rules.

My problem at the moment is not so much that files are disappearing (although that is very weird), but that the file that definitely sits in that folder is not being seen by DT.

Welcome @toffy
Where is the indexed folder in the Finder?

1 Like

Are any indexed items still in DEVONthink’s trash?

the path is /Users/username/Documents/Box Sync/Literature

Yes, there are many items in the DT trash. Are you suggesting that indexing new files doesn’t work unless the trash is empty?

New indexed files are not added if the same indexed files exist already in the trash.

1 Like

OK, this is weird but good to know. Indeed: emptying the trash resolved the issue.

So, just to better understand what is going on here:

The newly added file was not in the trash, but it was still not indexed. So I suppose it is not just trashed files that are not indexed but also trashed folders?