Updating of indexed folders

Hello there,

I am very new to DT3 and I am encountering a problem that I think is probably just me making some weird mistake - but I searched the forum and I couldn’t really find a possible solution to my problem other than what I read here in another thread from june 2019 where a broken database was the issue.

However - I have a folder indexed. It is a document folder containing almost only PDFs concerned with my thesis. If I add a new PDF to this folder, my understanding is that it should update in the DT indexed folder. But this doesn’t happen. Using the File > ‘update indexed folder’ command also does not do anything. Currently I kinda manually index the new file by hand but I think that’s not how it is supposed to work.

I wonder if I am overlooking something really stupid (“The problem is that it is the ICloud documents folder”) or if I misunderstood how it is supposed to work…

And yes, I am also looking for answers in the handbook, just not successful yet.

Thank you for your time and patience :slight_smile:

What’s the path of indexed folder and which version of macOS do you use? Does rebooting the computer make a difference?

Rebooting does not make a difference.

But maybe it is the fact that it is an iCloud folder.

icloud > documents > Thesis Literature > Journal PDFs is the path shown at the lower edge of the finder.

Do you add PDFs to this folder on the same or another machine?

Folders located on iCloud Drive and indexed into DEVONthink should work perfectly. I actually index 100% of documents in my DEVONthink databases, and all the indexed documents are in iCloud Drive folders.