Use of dropbox as a backup

Hi,

I’m new to DT (Just paid for the Pro Office 4 days ago…)…
Sorry for the Q. but could’t find answer after 3 hours of searching the forum.

I fully understand that storing the DT database in dropbox is wrong and could cause problem when accessing it from more than one mac…

My Q. is, what if I only use one mac?? may I leave the DT database inside the dropbox folder in my mac in that case? just for the automatic backup?
Can’t see the problem here as it will just copy the database to the cloud(dropbox) without changing anything… so I use it as a perfect backup for my DT database, and I don’t need to schedule any sync using DT preference sync option.

Again, I’m using only one mac with DT and I don’t need any access from another.

Thank you for prompt replay.

[size=200]NO[/size]

It’s not an issue with multiple users, multiple clients, or multiple anything else. It’s limitations on the Dropbox technology. Not that there’s anything wrong with Dropbox, but Dropbox is not omniscient and doesn’t know how to maintain database consistency when copying databases hither and about.

Thank you for your super-prompt replay!

Can you be more specific on this topic?
As far as my understanding… when there is no modification of the file/database from another dropbox connected machine… Dropbox only copy what it see in my dropbox folder on the mac… it is like a mirror image of everything in that folder… Dropbox does not suppose to change or maintain or rearrange anything it just copy what it see to the cloud… one to one…
I really want to understand what’s the point you think dropbox will mess my DT database… an example will be more the perfect.

THANK YOU!!

You seem to be under the impression that there is only one client at any given time. This is incorrect. Dropbox itself – its storage system – also acts as a client.