Use Synoloy NAS and 2 MacOS to access DEVONthink database

Hello DEVONthink Community,

I’m new to DEVONthink and recently discovered its potential for organizing and managing files. I’ve just started exploring its features and capabilities, but I’m seeking advice from experienced users on the best practices for using DEVONthink in my specific scenario.

Here’s a bit about my setup and requirements:

1. File Storage: I have a large number of files stored on a Synology NAS. These files include documents, PDFs, images, and more.
  2. Access: I need to access these files from multiple MacOS and Windows computers. However, if necessary, I can restrict access to MacOS only.

Given this setup, I have a few questions:

1. Database Location: Is it advisable to store the DEVONthink database on the Synology NAS, considering potential risks such as corruption or performance issues? If not, where should I store it and make it accessible by multiple MacOS devices?
  2. Backup Strategy: What backup strategies do you recommend for ensuring data integrity and recovery, particularly when using a NAS for file storage?
  3. Configuration Tips: Are there any specific settings or configurations within DEVONthink that I should consider adjusting to optimize performance and reliability in my scenario?

I would greatly appreciate any insights, tips, or recommendations from those who have experience using DEVONthink with a NAS, especially in a multi-platform environment.

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Best regards,

1 Like

Backup 3-2-1
3 copies; 2 local on different media; 1 offsite

I use Mac TimeMachine for incremental backups to a local drive
and cloud service Arq Premium for incremental backups to a cloud location

> I need to access these files from multiple MacOS and Windows computers.
You can leave the folders/files on the NAS at their current location
and use the Indexing option for access through Devonthink

4 Likes