Using DT3 as document storage and retrieval

I generate a lot of files and, sadly, there isn’t any great storage and retrieval software that allows tagging of the files or searching based on contents and context.

Is anyone using DT to manage all the files they create? Got a workflow?

Welcome @Iannarino

sadly, there isn’t any great storage and retrieval software that allows tagging of the files or searching based on contents and context.

Umm… you’re looking at it. :stuck_out_tongue:

Is anyone using DT to manage all the files they create? Got a workflow?

The forums are full of information about how people use DEVONthink.

Also, check out the built-in Help and this blog post:

I am a lawyer who uses DT as my paperless filing system. Several databases, depending on scale of matter and others for administration. My workflow is ad hoc - I routinely import emails and attachments plus scan to PDF other documents and import them, usually via the sorter.

A number of SOLO lawyers using DT subscribe to the MILO Google group - if you have access, you will find lots of material as to the ways lawyers are using DT.

2 Likes

Hi. IMHO, it will be very useful to invest sometime in the help document first. You will get a lot of inspirations by knowing what functions are available in DT. The tricks of DT3 are the consolidation and the ease of using all available tools in four tasks: collection, search, categorisation, and manipulation of files in MacOS. Knowing what tools/methods are available in DT before reading the forum posts may help new user to visualise exactly how things happen.

3 Likes