Using global inbox on multiple computers

I’m quite new to the DevonThink and still investigating, if it fits my needs.

I’m moving between 3 computers (Home Desktop, Home MacBookPro, Office Desktop). Most of my data (like big files) I need resides on an external disk. Other (smaller files) reside on my Dropbox.

The DT-databases I created for investigating reside on my external drive.

What’s the best way to setup DT, to share my global inbox across these computers?

• Put the whole ‘DEVONthink Pro 2’ folder from ‘~/Application Support/’ to my external drive and then create an alias to it in ‘~/Application Support/’
  • Or just move the Inbox.dtbase2 to my external drive and create an alias to it in ‘~/Application Support/’?

Or is there a ‘recommended’ way to force the global inbox to another place?

And: What’s the additional ‘Inbox’ I see in ‘~/Application Support/’?

Any hint appreciated

andy

The second Inbox is the global inbox database. If you move the inbox, you need to move both of these (the folder named “Inbox” and Inbox.dtbase2) and put aliases in Application Support. It’s generally recommended not to open a database with more than one instance of DT at the same time - that also applies to the global inbox (a database).

Are you running separate instances of DT installed on each machine? Why not have each instance index the local Dropbox folder and let Dropbox sync the three (?) instances? Each local instance of the global inbox could index the Dropbox folder on that machine.

Hi korm,

thanks for the info about inboxes.

I don’t want to open my databases from multiple instances of DT4. Unsually I’m carrying my external drive with me all the time (this is due to the vast amount of data I usually need - or want to have with me).