Using other software for day-to-day work, and DevonThink for cold storage and archive?

I’ve heard from a couple of people who use DevonThink in conjunction with other things. Most interestingly to me currently are people who use DT with Roam Research or Obsidian. @RosemaryOrchard said on one of her podcasts that she’s using Agenda as a front end and DevonThink for cold storage/archiving?

I’m wondering if others of you are using other software for live projects, and use DT as a cold storage or library?

Lately I use DevonThink for research – including typing up interview notes; I’m a journalist of sorts. But I’m doing a little writing in Ulysses, because the ease of breaking articles in tiny chunks and moving them around.

How about you?

I’m perhaps biased but I use DEVONthink for the vast majority of what I do, including thinking, writing, and doing support. The stuff that isn’t in DEVONthink are things that are far outside its wheelhouse, like design work. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Why limit yourself to those options?

I use Devonthink for live projects, but I use a variety of document formats to edit those files. You can use “Open with” or Bookmarks to store Word files, Google Sheets, Aeon Timeline Files, and lots of others - including Obsidian vaults given their recently released URL Scheme. That way Devonthink is both a repository for “live projects” and automatically becomes an archive when the project is done.

4 Likes

I need to look into these obsidian url schemes. I knew you can index’s obsidian docs with DT because they are just markdown

But if you index you cannot open them within Devonthink except as generic Markdown files. Using a Devonthink Bookmark to an Obsidian URL link lets you open the vault fully within Obsidian while using DT3.

4 Likes