Verifiable long term document storage

I have been using Devonthink for many years now, so much so that it has become the standard repository for everything. But I live in fear of losing a document by accident and not noticing it until years later.

Has anybody come up with a way of checking the repo to make sure that all files are still in place and correct? Perhaps an Archive where old documents can be stored, but with a way of running a shasum check over it to be absolutely sure nothing changed or was corrupted.

The question of git has come up in the past. It would be ideal if the archive could be committed to a git repo so it can ALWAYS be recovered at a much later date. But I understand git fails because the documents and database are stored in different locations. Is that still true with 3.0?

Any thoughts or suggestions about safe verifiable long term storage would be extremely welcome.

1 Like

File > Verify & Repair Database… doesn’t support checksums but at least it can verify the integrity of the database and that all files exist. The latest version performs this automatically if a database wasn’t closed properly (e.g. due to a crash or kernel panic or power outage etc.)

It would be ideal if the archive could be committed to a git repo so it can ALWAYS be recovered at a much later date.

That wouldn’t be the case if you are offline or your network went down.

But I understand git fails because the documents and database are stored in different locations.

Imported documents are located inside the internals of a DEVONthink database.
However, you should not be putting a DEVONthink database in the cloud. You periodically could export a ZIP file (see File > Export > Database Archive or Script menu > Export > Daily Backup Archive) for cloud use.