What is your topic structure design?

Hi, I was a DevonThink Pro addict a few years ago but now based on the file name, tag, and dates, I use default Finder smart folder to smart index for files stored in respective iCloud app folders, e.g., .numbers in /Numbers.

As I’m doing this, I’m still curious if there is anyone who also has a small storage (256GB or less) MacBook but manage to use DevonThink as your default “Finder”. If you manage to do that, how exactly do you organize your files? Do you have a top level design like PARA or do you use smart group to create temporary index?

To begin with, I’m a university teacher, and I do a lot of spreadsheet and pdf stuff. So what I do is to create smart folders when i need and store them in a dedicated folder “Smart Folders”. I also have Alfred installed and use it to search for files.

After the release of Bear 2, I integrate it into my workflow and store permanent notes and reference notes into it. I have a daily dashboard to store my quick notes.

Have you considered purchasing an external USB drive and put you files there? It’s possible to get non-spinning solid state drives with a lot of space for prices less than in previous years.

If you do this, work through how you will make backups of that drive, and your Mac if you’ve not yet done that.

2 Likes

I used to do that, and at that time, I bought 2 Samsung T5 SSDs. The problem is you cannot always have them connected to your Mac, and whenever you forget to bring and connect them, you lose all the files you need on DevonThink.

Also, external SSDs have a large limit on their performance. They often slow down due to overheating. Adding to that is the fact that my M2 MacBook Air only has two USBC ports, and I have other accessories like USBC Headphone and an external monitor.

Well … best idea then is get a new Mac. Perhaps you can get a good trade-in price now, rather than wait and in future get a depreciated trade-in price.