What to use for small free-form notes

For many years now I’ve kept a variety of small notes, mostly free-form contact information, in a couple different applications that are particularly good at creating, organizing, and retrieving such information.

What comes to mind at the moment in connection with DEVONthink – I’m a brand newbie – is a separate rich text document for each item organized by folders. That is basically what I had in the other systems, but for some vague reason that strikes me as a little cumbersome at the moment.

I’d be interested in hearing about other ways of handling this kind of information in DEVONthink, if there are such.

Thanks,

I use plain text notes for that. Reason is the ability to sync with my iPod Touch and then to edit the files on the handheld. Rich text is not editable in iOS yet.

Consider Notational Velocity (NV). NV keeps notes in a folder, which can be indexed into DTPO (and if you use a script I posted here you can quickly put notes that you write in DTPO into the Notational folder and make them into indexed documents). NV can be assigned a keyboard shortcut, so the note window opens anywhere. And NV can be synced with SimpleNote, so that your notes are available elsewhere including your Touch, or phone or iPad, or - via SimpleNote - synchronize with Tinderbox, Scrivener, and other desktop apps.

Thanks, korm. Notational Velocity looks interesting, but doesn’t DT, with it’s “Take Note” command, and I sense in other ways, already have the capabilities of NV?

Indeed, yes. Take Note is useful if you confine the notes to DT or export them (or sync to iOS devices with DTTG). NV is useful if your notetaking wants to be integrated with other apps. Just a slightly different approach.

That makes sense. At the moment I don’t have that need.

Thanks,

You can always have DT index your Notes folder.

Eric,