When to use DTPO vs Finder?

I’ve been using DTPO for several weeks and learning more uses for this outstanding software. It’s so useful I’m concerned about over-using it (like a replacement Finder of sorts, only one on steroids)!

I need some advice: When do users find it helpful to store information in DTPO versus the Finder? For example, I do a lot of business with the insurance industry. I have contracts with them. I have a master folder titled “Insurance,” and then within it, one folder for each insurance company I do business with.

It’s relatively easy to find what I need. I could put the contracts, etc. into DTPO easily and store this information here only. So when does it make sense to use DTPO vs simply the Finder?

In advance, many thanks for all the input!

DEVONthink and Finder are not the same thing. Finder is an Apple-provided interface to your computer’s file system. With the right commands, Finder can be used to browse every nook and cranny of your computer. (“Finder” is mis-named, though. It doesn’t “find” anything. When you search in Finder you are actually using Spotlight; a different tool.)

DEVONthink databases are stored in your file system just like everything else on your computer. DEVONthink cannot be used to browse or find any document that’s not stored inside the database or indexed by DEVONthink in that database. DEVONtechnologies makes other products that can search your file system – but that’s also a different story.

You have a choice whether to buy and use DEVONthink. You don’t have a choice about Finder – but your computer would be of little use without it. You don’t have to choose between Finder and DEVONthink – they are two different things.